Poetry Contest

Hear, Here poetry contest winners:

First prize:  David Krump, “Ophelia Soft.”

Second prize: Kyle Constalie, “Into Collision.”

Third prize (tie): Susan Houlihan, “River Walk” and Teagan Daly, “Trauma Center.”

Honorable mentions: Mai Chao, “Two Rivers,” and Gene Falkenberg, “Untitled (Back in 1966).”

The Hear, Here Poetry Contest concluded June 10, 2017 at Artspire with open air readings by the poets.  Now you can listen to the poems on our website and on the streets or read them in Steam Ticket: A Third Coast Review, Vol. 20.

We received nearly fifty submissions, and there were many exemplary poems and fascinating histories of the La Crosse area. Thank you to all of the writers who submitted such energized and interesting poems. We’ve been delighted by the outpouring of stories and interest.

About the Contest

Submission Instructions

  • Submit up to three original poems about a downtown La Crosse experience or landmark.
  • No restrictions as to form: simply seeking energized, focused poems in a contemporary style.
  • Previously published works are acceptable, but will not be considered for publication (see below).
  • Submit to stories@hearherelacrosse.org by March 17, 2017.



  • The winning poem will receive a $100.00 prize. Runner up receives $50. Honorable mention receives $25.
  • The editors of Steam Ticket, an international journal of creative writing, will publish one or more of the winning poems in the spring 2017 issue.
  • The top three poems selected will receive a commemorative, signed broadside print of a poem by Wisconsin Poet Laureate Kimberly Blaeser.
  • The top three to five poems will be honored publicly at the Spring 2017 Artspire festival.
  • All chosen poems will be recorded for inclusion in the Hear, Here archive.